The Habanero Hamburger "Hall of Flame"

Welcome to the Habanero Hamburger Hall of Flame --- the unofficial home page for the Prince of Wales Pub's infamous "Habanero Hamburgers", and those who survived them.


Habanero Hamburger History

Jack Curry serves the Habanero Hamburger, and more traditional pub fare, at his "Prince of Wales" pub in San Mateo. Jack has owned the pub for over two decades, and created the habanero burger a few short years ago. You are asked to sign a release form when you order one of these spicy [toxic] burgers, and receive a bumper sticker for "surviving" the experience:


Restaurants in Intertwined Escondido
Sponsored by San Diego's Trusted Electrician Gforce
Rictor Wall Construction Retaining Walls San Diego

Eating a Habanero Hamburger has become a rite of passage for new employees at high-tech companies in the area. Silicon Graphics was one of the most active adherents to the habanero tradition. Several SGI employees have donated SGI habanero hamburger histories you can read. In addition, Jack Curry used to have a book for sale at the pub, describing Silicon Graphics' contribution to this delicate cuisine. Check at the pub for its availability.

Having beat the Silicon Graphics company record for number of Habanero Hamburgers consumed, Brian Totty brought the fine tradition to Inktomi Corporation.

Check this out!
My24HRLocksmith Singapore
Electrician-Visions Contractor Newport Beach


Directions and Other Goodies

Here are some other Habanero Hamburger goodies, and directions to the pub:

Special thanks to our sponsors!
Sponsored by GforceElectric of San Diego
iRepairSanDiego - SD's iPhone Screen Crew

The Hall of Flame: Those Who Swallowed And Survived

The plaques below commemorate some of the fine people we know have eaten the Habanero Hamburger, and have lived to brag about it.



BlueDiamondPlumbing Repair in SD, CA
If you would like to be added to the list, or change your count, send verifiable consumption updates to habanero-request@habanero-hamburger.com.

Victim Burger Consumption "Kills" Notes
Emmanuel "ack" Ackaouy
ack@netapp.com
5
Sebastian Adams
sadams@inktomi.com
1
Deepak Aggarwal
deepaka@inktomi.com
1
Imran Ahmed
imran.ahmed@phyve.com
1
Michael Albers
malbers@inktomi.com
1/2 veggie
Dave Alcocer
alcocer@corp.sgi.com
1
Tamara Andruss
tandruss@raycer.com
1
Raghu Angadi
rangadi@inktomi.com
1
Fanny Wu Armstrong
fanny@netscape.com
1
Mallick Arigapudi
mallick@asd.sgi.com
1
Tom Arnold
tarnold@inktomi.com
1
Vaughn Arnold
varnold@raycer.com
1
Dan Aronson
dan@net2future.com
1
Dror Avnon
davnon@raycer.com
2
Rick Avra
ravra@raycer.com
2
Thomas Balduff
tbalduff@inktomi.com
1
Anthony Banez
abanez@inktomi.com
1/4
Dave Barney
debarn@engr.sgi.com
3
Diego Basch
dbasch@inktomi.com
all but 1 bite, doh!
Rob Bastress
bastress@inktomi.com
1
Ed Baumann
ebaumann@inktomi.com
1
Rajeev Bector
rbector@inktomi.com
1
Jeff Becker
jcb@engr.sgi.com
3.5
Adam Beguelin
adamb@inktomi.com
1
Maria Beguelin
maria@inktomi.com
1/2
Jack Benkual
jbenkual@raycer.com
1.25
David Bernhardt
daveb@inktomi.com
1
Chris Berry
cberry@inktomi.com
1
Tim Berry
tberry@inktomi.com
1
Arnabnil Bhattacharjee
arnab@inktomi.com
3
Rahul Biswas
rbiswas@inktomi.com
1
Ross Boltman
ross.boltman@inktomi.com
1/2
Satheesh Bommakanti
satheesh@redwallop.com
1
Luc Boucher
lboucher@inktomi.com
2
Joe Bratt
jbratt@raycer.com
7
John Brown
johnbrown@asd.sgi.com
2
Warren Brown
wbrown@inktomi.com
2
Rich Buchanan
rbuchanan@raycer.com
2
Jon Burt
jonb@inktomi.com
1
Lori Butz
2/3 veggie
Simon Cairns
scairns@inktomi.com
6
Duncan Carling
dcarling@inktomi.com
1 + a few bites of another
Christopher Casey
ccasey@actuate.com
1
Hiren Chandiramani
hirenc@inktomi.com
1
Chun Cheng
Chun.Cheng@phyve.com
1
Ashim Chhabra
ashim@inktomi.com
1
Dino Cicciarelli
michaelc@inktomi.com
2
Earl Cohen
earl@cisco.com
16
Daniel Collins
dcollins@inktomi.com
1
Richard Collins
rcollins@inktomi.com
1
Doug Cook
dcook@inktomi.com
3
Oscar Cuevas
ocuevas@inktomi.com
1/2
Michael Cunniff
mcunniff@inktomi.com
1/2
Greg Czajkowski
greg.czajkowski@intel.com
1 1/2
Anne D'Angelo
adangelo@inktomi.com
3/8
Ajit Dandapani
ajitd@engr.sgi.com
6 + 1 bite
Paramita Das
paramita_das@yahoo.com
1
Jeff Dauber
jdauber@raycer.com
7
Vispi Daver
vdaver@nai.com
2
Franck Debane
fdebane@inktomi.com
1
Jason DeBettencourt
jasond@inktomi.com
1/2
James Decker
jdecker@inktomi.com
1
Wilbert de Graaf
wdegraaf@inktomi.com
1
Marcelle Deroubaix
marcelle.deroubaix@raycergraphics.com
1/2
Justin Diachun
diachun@inktomi.com
1
Steve Diamond
sdiamond@inktomi.com
1
Brian Din
bdin@inktomi.com
2
Cuong Do
cdo@inktomi.com
1
Jerome F. Duluk Jr.
jduluk@raycer.com
3
Clark Dunson
dunson@sgi.com
1 veggie
Alex Edelstein
alexed@inktomi.com
1
Dave Epstein
depstein@raycer.com
3
Kevin Epstein
kevine@inktomi.com
1.1 burgers
John "Turdle" Ertel
ertel@netapp.com
1
Jorge Escobar
jorge@inktomi.com
licked once + a few little bites
Jeff Evarts
jde@uunet.uu.net
1
Emerson Fang
efang@raycer.com
1
Ben Fathi
benf@engr.sgi.com
8.5 real + 3 veggie
Katrina Kehlet
katkehlet@yahoo.com
1
Haijun Feng
haijun@exp.com
3
Laurie Ferris
lferris@inktomi.com
1
Jeff Fier
fier@asd.sgi.com
4
Robert Fisher
rfisher@inktomi.com
1
Jim Fondren
jfondren@inktomi.com
1
Brian Freeman
bfreeman@inktomi.com
1
Greg Fong
gfong@inktomi.com
1/4
Ed Forbes
eforbes@inktomi.com
1
Kathy Frazier-Jones
kathyf@inktomi.com
1/4
Eric Gafner
chucil@yahoo.com
1 veggie
Paul Gamble
pgamble@inktomi.com
1
Bonnie Gardner
bonnie@inktomi.com
1 bite
John Gardner
john.gardner@nokia.com
1
Doug Gates
dgates@stanfordalumni.org
8
Paul Gauthier
gauthier@inktomi.com
10 + 1 bite + a few bites of another
John Gebbie
j_gebbie@yahoo.com
1 1/2
Kaushik Ghosh
kaushik@sgi.com
7
Arvind Gopalan
arvindg@inktomi.com
1
Randy Gottfried
randyg@inktomi.com
2
Joe Grass
jgrass@raycer.com
1
Pauli Gray
pauligray@yahoo.com
1 veggie
Andrew Greenlee
ajg@inktomi.com
2
David Grunwald
dag@netapp.com
1
Rob Guyton
rob@inktomi.com
1
Adam Haberlach
adam@newsnipple.com
3 1/2
John Hall
JHall@nvidia.com
1
Matthew Hall
mhall@inktomi.com
1
Mohammad Hakimi
mohammad.hakimi@raycergraphics.com
1
Drew Hamilton
awh@awh.org
1
Ryan Hamilton
ryan@inktomi.com
1
Amy Hanlon
amy@inktomi.com
1/3
Don Harris
dharris@raycer.com
2
Greg Heppberger
gregh@inktomi.com
1
Dick Hessel
rhessel@home.com
18 1/2
Thomas Ho
thomas.ho@raycergraphics.com
1
Justin Hoffman
jhoffman@inktomi.com
1
David Holmes
dholmes@inktomi.com
1
Simon Huang
shuang@raycer.com
1
Kenji Hubbard
kenji@netapp.com
1 veggie
Frederick Hui
frederick.hui@raycergraphics.com
1
Hosung Hwang
hosung.hwang@phyve.com
a bite
Giri Iyer
giyer@inktomi.com
1
Akbar Jaffer
ajaffer@inktomi.com
4
Oliver Jenkins
kroisis@yahoo.com
4
Chris Jewell
1
Kathy Frazier-Jones
kathyf@inktomi.com
1/4
Alpana Jogia
alpana@inktomi.com
1/6
Colin Johnston
colinj@inktomi.com
6 bites, "started fast but could not finish"
Ruby Jordan
rubylicious1@yahoo.com
1 veggie
Doug Judd
djudd@inktomi.com
1
Eric Kaplan
ekaplan@inktomi.com
1
Jeff Kemp
jkemp@inktomi.com
1
Samir Khericha
skherich@engr.sgi.com
1/2
William Kim
wkim@inktomi.com
1
Takeshi Kitahara
takeshi.kitahara@raycergraphics.com
1
Krash Kramer
krashk@inktomi.com
1
Michael Kramer
mkramer@inktomi.com
1
Joseph Kuah
jkuah@inktomi.com
1
Scott Kuusinen
skuusinen@raycer.com
1
Case Larsen
clarsen@inktomi.com
1
Brond Larson
brond@sgi.com
1
Andrew Lau
alau@inktomi.com
1
Adnan Lawai
(sgi)
1/2
Cheng-Ping Li
chengping.li@phyve.com
a few bites
Frank Liu
ftliu@mit.edu
1
Brandon Lucas
brlucas@kevointl.com
1 bite
Mike Ludwig
mludwig@raycer.com
2
Noah Mackenzie
noahm@inktomi.com
1 + several more bites
Dave Mackle
mackleman@yahoo.com
1
Bill Maggs
bill@inktomi.com
1
Dan Maher
dmaher@inktomi.com
2/3 burger
Cliff Maier
cliff@hypersurf.com
3
Vishal Makhijani
vishalm@inktomi.com
1
Raghu Mallena
rags@engr.sgi.com
0.7 veggie
Kiran Mandra
kiran@redwallop.com
1
Bob Mansfield
bmansfield@raycer.com
6
Allister Maple-Brown
ambrown@inktomi.com
1
Bijan Marashi
bijan@inktomi.com
1
Carter Maslan
cmaslan@inktomi.com
1
Rob Massuger
rob.massuger@inktomi.com
1
James McCabe
jmccabe@inktomi.com
1
Curt McDowell
csm@sgi.com
1
Alex Meyer
alex@inktomi.com
3
Rob Meyers
1
Mike Michon
mmichon@inktomi.com
1 1/2
Jay Moorthi
jmoorthi@netapp.com
1
Martin Morgans
mmorgans@inktomi.com
1/4
Abbas Morshed
abbasm@cisco.com
2
Mayrose Munar
mmunar@inktomi.com
1
Affie Munshi
amunshi@raycer.com
2
Dan Murray
dmurray@raycer.com
1
V. Aanand Murthy
amurthy@inktomi.com
2
David Nadler
dnadler@inktomi.com
1
Zach Nelson
znelson1us@yahoo.com
1
Matt Nemenman
1
Tuan Nguyen
tnguyen@raycer.com
1
Andrew Nimitz
animitz@inktomi.com
1
Peter Norby
norby@inktomi.com
1
Donn North
donn.north@phyve.com
a few bites
Panos Ntourntoufis
panosn@inktomi.com
1
Hiroshi Ohta
ohtahiro@skyproject.com
1/4
Mike Palmer
mep@mepalmer.net
5 + 1 bite
Avinash Palvancha
avinash@redwallop.com
1
Murad Pandit
mpandit@inktomi.com
1
Matt Papakipos
mpapakipos@raycer.com
4
Sameer Paranjpye
1
Jeff Patmore
jpatmore@inktomi.com
1
Jim Pinkerton
jimp@engr.sgi.com
2
Eric Piziali
epiziali@inktomi.com
2
Ian Pleasance
ianp@inktomi.com
1
John Plevyak
jplevyak@inktomi.com
1
Sarang Pogula
sarang@redwallop.com
3 bites
John Poole
jpoole@inktomi.com
1
Jason Purvor
jpurvor@inktomi.com
1
Kathleen Reese
kathleen@inktomi.com
8
Jason Redgrave
jredgrave@raycer.com
1
John Richardson
John@Real3D.com
3
John Riccardi
johnr@inktomi.com
2
Dino Rivera
drivera@inktomi.com
1/2
Kostadis "Special-K" Roussos
kostadis@netapp.com
1
Kevin Runde
krunde@inktomi.com
1
Adam Sah
asah@inktomi.com
1
Eric Salo
salo@engr.sgi.com
5 real + 1 veggie
Allan Schaffer
allan@sgi.com
2
Eric Scheel
scire@inktomi.com
1
Martin Schuldt
Martin.Schuldt@inktomi.com
1
John "Chewy" Schuster
jcs@netapp.com
1
Christian Scott
cscott@inktomi.com
1
Ivry Semel
ivry@inktomi.com
2 bites veggie
Collin Sharp
csharp@raycer.com
2
Rufus Shaw
rshaw@inktomi.com
1
Aaron Shear
ashear@inktomi.com
1 1/2
Dave Simpson
2
Brian Sivitz
bdz@appsig.com
1
Jim Sloan
jsloan@inktomi.com
2
Marion Smith
marion@inktomi.com
4
Andrew Spray
1
Ramana Srirama
ramanas@poseidontech.com
1
Peter Stephan
pstephan@inktomi.com
1
Tim Stevens
tstevens@inktomi.com
1
Ram Subbaroyan
rsubbaro@inktomi.com
2 bites
Dustin Suchter
dsuchter@inktomi.com
1/2
Sean Suchter
ssuchter@inktomi.com
1/2
Subash Sundaresan
subashs@inktomi.com
1
Yuko Tanaka
ytanaka@inktomi.com
1
George Theodorides
georget@inktomi.com
1
Travis "T-Bone" Thornhill
travis@netapp.com
1
Troy Toman
ttoman@inktomi.com
1
Brian Totty
bri@inktomi.com

* Believed to be Retired *

15 + 1 bite
Hasan Toy
hasan.toy@raycergraphics.com
1
Eric Trehus
etrehus@cisco.com
2
Tony Tristani
tonyt@inktomi.com
1
Rob "Data" Tsai
rtsai@netapp.com
1
Albert Tsay
atsay@raycer.com
1
Mike Tso
mtso@inktomi.com
1 1/4
Nate Tuck
ntuck@raycer.com
3
Damanjit Uberoi
duberoi@inktomi.com
1
Alex Ukanwa
alex.ukanwa@raycergraphics.com
1
Suvas Vajracharya
suvasv@inktomi.com
1
Vince Vannelli
vannelli@inktomi.com
1
George Velamparampil
georgev@inktomi.com
1
Karun Veligeti
karun@redwallop.com
2
Christian Vogt
cvogt@inktomi.com
1
Libing Wang
lwang@inktomi.com
1
Chuck Wayman
cwayman@inktomi.com
1
Dave Weisner
dweisner@raycer.com
2
Keith Weng
kweng@inktomi.com
1/2
Jason K. Werner
mrhip@inktomi.com
4
Chuck Whyard
cwhyard@inktomi.com
1
Russ Whitear
rwhitear@inktomi.com
1
Simon Williams
shw@inktomi.com
1
Rick Wolfgram
rwolfgram@inktomi.com
1
Robert Wong
rwong@inktomi.com
3 bites
Dean Wood
dwood@inktomi.com
1
Steve Whitney
sw@engr.sgi.com
2
David Wu
davidwu@inktomi.com
1
Eric Xu
ericxu@netapp.com
1
Masi Yamada
mdyamada@kevointl.com
1/4
Clayton Yee
cyee@raycer.com
1
Todd Young
dyoung@inktomi.com
1
Lynn Youngs
lyoungs@raycer.com
1
Ted Yu
tyu@inktomi.com
1/4
Deborah Yurow
dyurow@inktomi.com
1/2
Marco Zagha
marcoz@inktomi.com
0.8 + a few bites two years later
Saad Zahid
saad@poseidontech.com
2
Hawk Zhang
hawkz@webex.com
1
Feng Zhou
fz@engr.sgi.com
half + 0.7


Eating Tips & Techniques

Here are a few tips and techniques for eating the Habanero Hamburger, contributed by our readers. Consumption strategies vary widely, but perhaps some of these will work for you.



MoldFixer Water Flood

Some Noteworthy Habanero Hamburger Quotes

"Is Inktomi is moving to hamburger business or what? You are a mad dog, Doc! You are propagating all bad things in bay area." -- Mallick Arigapudi (mallick@sgi.com)

"C'mon doc, it is not hot food; it is NOT food at all!" -- Mallick Arigapudi (mallick@sgi.com)

"While I was eating it, I thought of an old Japanese saying, originally written about climbing Mt. Fuji, but adapted here for Habanero Hamburgers: 'A man is a fool to never in his life eat a Habanero Hamburger. He is an even bigger fool if he eats more than one in his life'" -- Drew Hamilton (awh@awh.org)

"I thought eating a Habanero Burger was the worst pain I would ever experience. The next morning I realized how wrong I was." -- Jeff Patmore (jpatmore@inktomi.com)